Baltimore County Advisory Commission on Environmental Quality (CEQ) 9/25/2024 Agenda

7 pm **Welcome** and brief admninstrative matters:

- 1. Several Commissioners' appointment dates have expired; please see that your appointment is extended appropriately.
- 2. Commissioner Jennifer Langford has resigned and we wish her well. Samantha O'Neil in the County Executive's office welcomes suggestions for suitable candidates with pertinent experience.
- 3. Rota for Greeters: Need a Commissioner to take over the task of coordinating the rota for 2025.

7:05 New chapter in our CEQ attention to Resilience to Climate Change effects in Baltimore County: **Resilience to Extreme Heat.**

Background: See CEQ's 5/2019 report "Preparing Baltimore County for Resilience to Climate Change", and minutes and presentations from subsequent meetings exploring storm water and flood management including risks of problems with sanitary sewers, vehicle access to medical centers, other.)

Welcome David Bycoffe, Chief of the County's Office on Homeland Security and Emergency Management, appointed by the Governor in 2021, who will speak on current efforts to upgrade the distribution and accessibility of cooling centers.

Mr. Bycoffe's background includes 30 years as Director of Emergency Management for the Baltimore County Fire Department and 6 years as Battalion Chief. In 2023 received Master's degree in Emergency Management from University of Maryland Global Campus; the online description of that program includes climate adaptation.

The County's Office on Homeland Security and Emergency Management works on lessening the impact of natural or man-made emergencies and disasters through mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery. They coordinate the activities of the County's Emergency Operations Center, which itself includes representatives of local government, nonprofit and private sector agencies. The Emergency Operations Plan and the Hazard Mitigation Plan are found here: https://www.baltimorecountymd.gov/departments/emergency-management/emergency-plans

- 7:40 Update of CEQ Road Salt report Kathy Martin, Linda Davis, Brian Fath
- -Need each section to have a 1-2 sentence summary of main point or points of that section, which will be used to introduce the section.
- Executive Summary has been drafted, thank you Kathy Martin.

8:00 Update on Weed Ordinance (County Code 13-7-401) - Workgroup members Brian Fath, Lois Jacobs, Steve Malan, Carol Newill

Please read this brief summary, and contact Carol after tonight's meeting with your thoughts:

- Report has been posted on CEQ webpage.
- Councilmember Marks plans to introduce legislation to add exception for low-impact landscaping (which was defined in the State law).
- PAI Director Gutwald and Adam Whitlock reviewed a set of photos of managed, Low-Impact Landscaping which was suggested to be used by PAI inspectors to guide fair and consistent evaluation of complaints. The photos were annotated with "Cues to Care" which could be used to indicate that the property is not merely neglected but instead is low-impact landscaping: boundaries (e.g. mowed or mulched); pathways: signage; certifications.
- -PAI leadership have indicated that if the Weed Ordinance does add an exception for Low-Impact Landscaping then a different set of photos or diagrams would be needed and the change might be made to apply to a limited array of properties such as large properties. While Low-Impact Landscaping (as defined by the State law) does not restrict the definition to native plants exclusively, members of citizen volunteer environmental advocacy organizations who are especially interested in native plants are developing alternative materials to submit for consideration.

8:05 Update on Oregon Ridge Park - Carol Newill

8:10 Update on Forest Conservation Manual and Trees - Brian Lindley

8:20 MInutes of 5/2024 meeting

8:30 Adjourn

Next CEQ meetings in 2024: 10/23, 12/4.

Addendum: CEQ Greeters Rota for 2024

1/24 Carol Newill

2/28 Valerie Androutsopoulos

3/27 Mahnaz Assadi

4/24 Linda Davis

5/22 Lynda Eisenberg

9/25 Brian Fath

10/23 Steve Malan

12/4 Andy Miller