

JOHN A. OLSZEWSKI, JR. County Executive

D'ANDREA L. WALKER County Administrative Officer

November 22, 2024

Mr. Sean McDonough Watershed Environmental, LLC PO Box 562 Jarrettsville, Maryland 21084

RE: Piney Run @Butler Road Restoration Fee Waiver Request

Dear Mr. McDonough:

I am responding to your request to waive all permit fees associated with the project known as "Piney Run @Butler Road Restoration Project". The authority to waive fees is provided by the County Administrative Officer under 3-1-202(b) and 3-1-202(c) of the County Code.

Funding for design of the proposed stream restoration was provided by Baltimore County through the Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability (DEPS) in the amount of \$232,580. Funding for the construction of the project will be through Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Atlantic and Coastal Bays Trust Fund in the amount of \$1,577,223. The restoration project will result in significant nutrient reduction to the Chesapeake Bay and will generate Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) credits. Baltimore County will be the beneficiary of the TMDL credits from this project which will aid in meeting the Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) goals for carrying out the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) program implemented by the Federal Clean Water Act. Therefore, as the County Administrative Officer I am authorizing the Department of Permits Approvals and Inspections to waive the permit fees for the review and construction of this project.

Should you have any questions or require any additional information, please feel free to call Pete Gutwald, Director of Permits, Approvals and Inspections at 410-887-3020 or email at <u>cpgutwald@baltimorecountymd.gov</u>.

Sincerely, ala

D'Andrea L. Walker County Administrative Officer

cc: Sameer Sidh, Senior Deputy County Administrative Officer for Economic Development & Infrastructure Pete Gutwald, Director of Permits, Approvals and Inspections James Benjamin, County Attorney Horacio Tablada, Director, Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability