Approved by Planning Board June 20, 2024

MINUTES

Baltimore County Planning Board Meeting

May 16, 2024

Contents

Call to Order, Introduction of Board Members, Pledge of Allegiance, and Announcements

Review of Today's Agenda

Minutes of the April 18, 2024 Meeting

Item for Discussion and Vote

1. 2024 Comprehensive Zoning Map Process (CZMP)

Other Business

- 2. Report from the May 9, 2024 Meeting of the Landmarks Preservation Commission
- 3. Recent County Council legislation of interest to the Board:
 - a. Bill 14-24 Zoning Regulations Uses Permitted C.B. Zone Fraternal Organizations
 - b. Bill 17-24 2024 Basic Services Maps
 - c. Resolution 22-24 Adopt the Reisterstown Main Street Design Recommendations
 - d. Resolution 24-24 Adopt Construction and Materials Standards and Specifications Manuals

Adjournment of the Board Meeting

Appendices

Appendix A 2024 Comprehensive Zoning Map Process (CZMP) Log of Issues

Note: A copy of the appendices is located in the official digital Planning Board files.

Baltimore County Planning Board Meeting Minutes May 16, 2024

Call to Order, Introduction of Board Members

Chairwoman Hafford called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM and welcomed everyone. A roll call to account for the members of the Board was conducted. Through the meeting, the following Board members were:

Present	Absent
1. Ms. Nancy Hafford, Chair	
2. Mr. Peter Arrey	
3. Ms. Emily Brophy	
4. Ms. Beverly German	
5. Mr. S. Chris Haffer	
6. Mr. Mark Heckman	
7. Mr. Steven Heinl	
8. Mr. Shafiyq Hinton (Arrived at 4:01 PM)	
9. Mr. C. Scott Holupka, Vice Chairman	
10. Mr. Derick Johnson	
11. Mr. Wayne McGinnis	
12. Mr. Howard Perlow	
13. Ms. Cathryn Pinheiro	
14. Mr. Todd Warren	
15. Ms. Cathy Wolfson	

Attending County staff included: Ms. Jennifer Meacham, Mr. Kris Weaver, Ms. Ngone Diop, Mr. David Birkenthal, Ms. Ainsley Pressl, Mr. Joseph Wiley, Ms. Yolanda Gregory, Ms. Krystle Patchak, Ms. Courtney Rachuba, and Ms. Taylor Bensley, all of the Department of Planning.

Review of Today's Agenda

Ms. Bensley reported there were no changes to the Tentative Agenda published May 9, 2024.

Mr. Hinton arrived at 4:01 PM.

Minutes of the April 18, 2024 Meeting

Chairwoman Hafford asked the Planning Board members if they had any changes to the April 18, 2024 Minutes. Hearing none, Chairwoman Hafford called for a motion to approve the Minutes as drafted. Mr. Warren moved to approve the Minutes as drafted. Mr. Arrey seconded the motion, which passed at 4:02 PM with affirmative votes being cast by Mr. Arrey, Ms. Brophy, Ms. German, Mr. Haffer, Mr. Heckman, Mr. Heinl, Mr. Hinton, Mr. Holupka, Mr. Johnson, Mr. McGinnis, Mr. Perlow, Ms. Pinheiro, Mr. Warren, and Ms. Wolfson. There were no dissenting votes.

Item for Discussion and Vote

1. 2024 Comprehensive Zoning Map Process (CZMP)

Chairwoman Hafford informed the Board that the first item on the agenda was the Board's final vote on their recommendations on Comprehensive Zoning Map Process (CZMP) 2024 issues. She explained that the Board's involvement with CZMP 2024 began in February with Public Hearings in each Council District, and continued into April with Work Session where the Board discussed and deliberated their recommendations. Chairwoman Hafford continued that the Board had received over 200 pieces of written testimony and that their task of making recommendations to the County Council on the CZMP 2024 issues was not taken lightly. She then opened the floor for any discussion or outstanding comments from the Board.

Mr. Holupka noted that Mr. Hinton had joined the meeting.

With no further discussions or questions, Chairwoman Hafford called for a motion on the Board's CZMP 2024 recommendations. Mr. Holupka moved that that the Planning Board Log of Issues, dated May 7th, 2024 and reflecting the 2024 CZMP Sub-Committee work, be approved to constitute final recommendations by the Planning Board to the County Council regarding the Comprehensive Zoning Map Process Issues for 2024. Mr. Warren seconded the motion, which passed at 4:06 PM with affirmative votes being cast by Mr. Arrey, Ms. Brophy, Ms. German, Mr. Haffer, Mr. Heckman, Mr. Heinl, Mr. Hinton, Mr. Holupka, Mr. Johnson, Mr. McGinnis, Mr. Perlow, Ms. Pinheiro, Mr. Warren, and Ms. Wolfson. There were no dissenting votes.

Other Business

2. Report from the May 9th, 2024 Meeting of the Landmarks Preservation Commission

Ms. Bensley gave a report on the major actions of the Landmarks Preservation Commission at their May 9th, 2024 meeting.

3. Recent County Council legislation of interest to the Board

Ms. Bensley gave a report on the recent legislation passed by the County Council of interest to the Board, which included:

- a. Bill 14-24 Zoning Regulations Uses Permitted C.B. Zone Fraternal Organizations
- b. Bill 17-24 2024 Basic Services Maps
- c. Resolution 22-24 Adopt the Reisterstown Main Street Design Recommendations
- d. Resolution 24-24 Adopt Construction and Materials Standards and Specifications Manuals

Adjournment of the Board Meeting

Chairwoman Hafford called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Warren moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. McGinnis seconded the motion, which passed at 4:11 PM with affirmative votes being cast by Mr. Arrey, Ms. Brophy, Ms. German, Mr. Haffer, Mr. Heckman, Mr. Heinl, Mr. Hinton, Mr. Holupka, Mr. Johnson, Mr. McGinnis, Mr. Perlow, Ms. Pinheiro, Mr. Warren, and Ms. Wolfson. There were no dissenting votes.

The meeting adjourned at 4:11 PM.