# WHAT IS COUNTYRIDE?

CountyRide is a transit system that serves
Baltimore County, providing specialized
transportation services to those 60 years
of age and over, adults with disabilities and
rural residents of all ages. Services are funded
primarily by Baltimore County with grants from
the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and the
Maryland Transit Administration (MTA).

CountyRide buses have easy, low-step entrances, and can accommodate wheelchairs. Each CountyRide driver has a commercial Driver's license with a passenger endorsement indicating that he or she has passed special written and road tests. All Drivers receive wheelchair training, and certification in CPR and first aid.

Baltimore County is committed to ensuring that no person is excluded from participation in, or denied the benefits of its transit services on the basis of race, color or national origin, as protected by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

For additional information on Baltimore County's nondiscrimination policies and procedures, please visit the website at www.baltimorecountymd.gov/

**CountyRide** or contact Deputy Director of Public Works Title VI Manager.

# WEATHER POLICY

**CountyRide** may limit service in the event of inclement or hazardous weather.

There are several types of announcements made regarding late openings or cancellations. Mass Notification will be sent to customers via voicemail, text, email.

Announcements regarding the closures will be made on local media outlets, including:

The Baltimore County website at www.baltimorecountymd.gov. Radio WBAL 1090 AM

#### **County Ride**

611 Central Avenue • Towson Maryland 21204

410-887-2080

countyride@baltimorecountymd.gov www.baltimorecountymd.gov/countyride

This information is available in alternate formats.



#### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

### Serving Baltimore County:

Older Adults age 60 and over Adults with Disabilities ages 18-59 (pending certification)

**Rural Residents 18+** 

410-887-2080

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

#### Countyride@baltimorecountymd.gov

People who are hearing impaired or have a speech disability can use:

Relay or 711



Baltimore County
Department of Public Works & Transportation



#### **HOW DO I GET A RIDE?**

CountyRide serves Baltimore County citizens age 60 and over, adults with disabilities ages 18-59, and rural residents of all ages.

You must be registered to ride.

You can obtain a registration form by calling CountyRide at 410-887-2080 or by stopping at any of the Baltimore County Senior Centers. A downloadable version is also available at:

www.baltimorecountymd.gov/countyride

Complete the registration form, and mail it to CountyRide, or email to countyride@baltimorecountymd.gov.

It will take approximately 30 days to process your registration.



### HOW CAN I REQUEST A RIDE?

Call the CountyRide office at 410-887-2080 Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. to request a ride.

When calling please have the following information for the operator to assist you more efficiently.

- Your CountyRide ID number.
- Exact address of your destination.
- Your doctor's last name and phone number.
- If you are ambulatory or use a mobility device, or if you will need assistance.
- Appointment date and time.
- If you are bringing an escort. Escorts are welcome, however, CountyRide does not provide escorts.
- Round-trip (pick-up time will be needed)

You will receive an automated Confirmation message Via phone call, voice message, text, email the day before your requested trip with the times at 2:00pm

All rides are based upon availability.

Clients must be ready 10 minutes prior to their pick up time. CountyRide is an appointment driven service therefore, the driver can wait no longer than 5 minutes after arrival. Clients will receive a courtesy call 10 minutes prior to the drivers arrival.

# WHEN CAN I CALL TO REOUEST A RIDE?

You can request a ride in advance, 14 days before your appointment for Medical appointments or 7 days for Non-Medical appointments.

## WHAT IF I NEED TO CANCEL A RIDE?

Cancel rides 24 hours in advance.
Please leave a message on the answering machine to cancel at 410-887-4565,
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Cancellations received with insufficient notice may result in a late cancel warning. Frequent abuse of the cancellation policy may result in possible suspension. Suspensions are reviewed on an individual basis.

## **HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?**

CountyRide provides Free Demand Response Service.



ENJOY THE RIDE